Eero arrives – First look

July 21, 2016 at 10:54 pm Leave a comment

My three pack of Eero devices arrived today.  I attached them each to a ethernet switches around my home, so I’m not using the wireless mesh capabilities of these units.

Installation went very smoothly.  I performed a quick series of speed tests (using the Ookla speed test app).  Virtually everywhere inside my home, I’m now getting speeds in excess of 40 Mbps down.  Close to an Eero?  Closer to 85-95 Mbps.  Out around the pool, I got around 30 Mbps for the most part, with one exception around 10 Mbps..

The parental controls features of the Eero aren’t quite what I had hoped.  When I think Parental Controls, I think internet filtering.  In the Eero, at least in the current form, it appears that this only covers grouping devices to a person, and having the ability to set schedules for when those devices have Internet access, pausing the Internet, and that sort of thing.   A similar feature advertised by Luma appeared to do things like this, plus filtering. I understand they have been putting out multiple updates each month, so hopefully a future update will include filtering based on family profile settings.

I’ve experimented with multiple access points in my home before, and those experiments always seemed to not work out quite as well as I had hoped.  If you give them different SSIDs, you have to switch networks from time to time, depending on where you are.  If you name the SSID the same on multiple APs, I’ve found issues with wireless devices “sticking” to a given AP.  Say you are in one part of the house, connected to AP1, and you move to another part of the house, near AP2.  It seems that as long as AP1 is somewhat within range, your wireless device will stay connected to it, even though there is a better signal available.

I have not really seen this problem with the Eero.  If I walk around my home, it seems like my iPhone moves to whichever Eero I’m closest to, judging by the number of bars my iPhone shows.  So far, I’m pretty impressed with the coverage.  I’ve generally wired most devices, but that may change with the Eero system in my home…

Hopefully, I’ll have more news to report in the next few weeks or so.

Update:  I removed part of this entry related tosomething  I thought was not in Eero yet, but I found it the next morning.

Entry filed under: Networking.

Wifi woes Eero surprise

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2016
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


