Adventures in DNS

May 21, 2017 at 7:48 pm Leave a comment

I just posted about my new PA-220 firewall and mentioned URL filtering.  I have a number of categories blocked, including web-advertising, adult content, malware, etc.  But you can always make something better, right?

The PA-220 has a feature to enforce safe search with various search engines.  Unfortunately, it seems to not work very well on my iPhone, or in Safari on my Mac.  It could be the 8.0.2 firmware, or perhaps it’s something that I’m doing wrong.  In any case, I wanted to fix it, as it was annoying.

Both Google and Bing support a feature to enable Safe Search for your network via DNS.  What you have to do is, when someone requests google.com, make your DNS return a CNAME record for forcesafesearch.google.com.  While this might sound easy, as I discovered, its a bit more complex than perhaps it should be.

First, the DNS proxy feature in my PA-220 does support configuring static entries, so I could add an entry for http://www.google.com, but I can’t set it to CNAMEs, only IP addresses.  I  would have to hard code the IP address for forcesafesearch.google.com, which could potentially change at any time, breaking things.

After a bit of research, my first candidate to truly do the CNAME change was found.

DNSmasq

On my unRaid box, I installed a docker of Pi-Hole, which is a DNS based system (meant for the Raspberry Pi, but capable of running on other platforms) which blackholes DNS queries to Web advertising sites, etc.  It uses DNSmasq and has the ability to run DHCP as well as DNS.  With this integration, it can resolve local hostnames to their DHCP assigned addressing.  I could do that now by adding static entries to my DNS Proxy instance on the PA-220, but it wouldn’t pick up on DHCP entries.  But, alas, DNSmasq treats a CNAME entry added manually differently than I had hoped.  It will ignore it unless it has that record defined somewhere, such at a static definition or via DHCP…  It won’t resolve an external CNAME like a normal query and return it.  And since if I were to define forcesafesearch.google.com as an A record in DNSmasq, that would really defeat the whole purpose of using the CNAME.

Pi-Hole does have a very nice modern web interface with statistics, graphs, and it looks extremely easy to whitelist or blacklist sites.  It gives you great visibility into what devices on your network are doing the most DNS lookups, and if you are wondering where your IoT devices go on the Internet, you can even filter the logs to see what an individual device is performing lookups against, assuming you have all your devices directly querying Pi-Hole, instead of chained like I’m doing here.  In fact, you can even disable the blocking functionality if you like.  With it disabled, it won’t block, but you’ll be able to see all the statistics and logs it has to offer, even showing you what it would have blocked.  Today, it has blocked about 8.8 percent of my DNS queries, though I haven’t really noticed much different than when I simply go through my PA-220.

Dingo

While looking for other DNS packages that could do this CNAME trick, I ran across one that looked very interesting for a different reason.  Dingo is effectively a DNS resolver that takes requests in on port 53, and resolves them over encrypted HTTP/2.  It can be used with both Google and OpenResolve (by OpenDNS).  I installed it as another docker and it seems to work fine.  I did increase it to use 25 worker threads instead of the initial 10.  I don’t know if I’ll keep using this or not, but I’ll see how it goes.

Bind

Other research turned up some settings for Bind that would let me add the CNAME records I needed to for Google and Bing to enforce safe search, and yet another Docker was installed.  The one I chose included Webmin for easy administration of Bind.  It worked just fine.

So, now I have the initial DNS queries pointing to the PA-220, taking advantage of the Threat/URL Filtering there, then forwarding to a docker running Bind to handle google and bing domains, which forwards to Pi-Hole (which I may end up removing from this chain), and finally to Dingo to perform the actual DNS lookups over encrypted HTTP/2.

Whew!

That sounds like a lot, but not including the PA-220 (which was doing this job before), I’ve added three hops that all exist on the same box.

Entry filed under: Networking. Tags: , , .

The PA-220 Firewall is here!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2017
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


