Sous Vide – Scallops and Chicken

October 15, 2016 at 8:05 pm Leave a comment

Today, I went to a seafood market near the ocean and got about a pound of sea scallops.  Since this seemed a little on the light side, I also got a pair of chicken breasts out so we could have a combination dinner.

Before I started the proteins, I got carrots working again.  These carrots were somewhat thick, so I cut them in half to cut back on the thickness.  After cooking them, I ran into a sorta strange behavior on my Anova.  I ended up unplugging it, removing it from the water, and waiting about 20 minutes or so, I guess…  Then I tried it again, and it seemed to clear up the strangeness.  The carrots went into the fridge, as there was a lot of time left until they were needed.

I cooked my Chicken at 150 for probably a little over an hour, then removed that, lowered the temp to to 124, added back in the carrots (to warm them) and the scallops.

Somewhere in here, my daughter made a nice lemon sauce, and I started a pot of rice.

While the scallops were in the water bath, I seared the chicken and when the 30 minutes was up, got the scallops out of the water, dried them with paper towels, put a bit of butter in my skillet and seared the scallops.

As for the verdict…  The carrots seemed a bit less done than last time.  Perhaps it was the thickness.  Both the scallops and the chicken were good.  Previously, I think my chicken was a bit on the dry side, which seems odd since it was mostly cooked in water, but anyhow…

Entry filed under: Sous Vide.

Sous Vide – Steak Switching to nYNAB – Web edition

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2016
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


