Sous Vide – Salmon and Corn

October 2, 2016 at 7:32 am Leave a comment

For tonight, I decided to go with two sous vide items…  Ok, these are items that probably don’t normally go together, but hey – I wanted to try them…

The corn was shucked, washed, and placed into sous vide bags with about a TBSP of butter, 2 ears to a bag.  Note to self – in the future, add some silverware to the bag to weigh it down.

Bringing an entire Cambro container up to 183 degrees took quite a long time.  Once it made it there, I had trouble with the bags of corn floating.  I think I gave it about 35 minutes.

So, for the Salmon, I went with a brine for a half hour or so, then rinsed them, I think I patted them dry with paper towels, then dropped them into zip lock bags with some olive oil and let them chill in the fridge for a while.  I got the temperature back down to about 130 degrees, then put them in for about 35 minutes.

Aside from this, I made rice and a sweet sauce.

This was probably my most successful sous vide dinner so far.  The corn was very flavorful, firm, crisp, and sweet.  Not crisp as in raw.  It was some very, very good corn.  The salmon was good too, though the texture was different.  It was probably softer than any salmon that I’d ever had that was cooked at home.

Overall, a very successful dish.

Entry filed under: Sous Vide.

Sous Vide – Tuna Sous Vide – Steak

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2016
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


