Sous Vide – Going both barrels

September 24, 2016 at 9:23 pm Leave a comment

Since I had just bought my Anova, I figured I’d try to cook an entire meal using it.  A main dish, two sides, and a dessert.

Main dish:  Boneless Chicken breast
Side #1:  Garlic Cheese Risotto
Side #2:  Carrots
Dessert:  Individual Cheesecake

Yes.  All four items made Sous Vide.

I started Friday night by making the Cheesecake.  I basically adapted a recipe based on one I found on-line (linked in the Will it Sous Vide article on Skillet.  Spoiler: Yes, it will!).

My adapted recipe made 8 individual cheesecakes in mason jars, with some graham cracker crust mixture left over, I believe.

Saturday came.  My plan was to pre-cook both the Risotto and the Carrots placing them in the fridge, then cook the Chicken.  When the Chicken was ready, I’d take it out and start finishing it, dropping the Risotto and Carrots into the water bath to warm up.

Risotto – I followed this recipe pretty closely from the Sous Vide supreme website.   Everything looked pretty good when I took it out of the Sous Vide and placed it into the fridge, though I didn’t look too close.

Carrots – I followed this recipe pretty closely from ChefSteps, except I didn’t use the fancy seasonings they suggested during the finishing step.  (It too went into the fridge and was warmed back up while finishing the chicken).

Note:  Since both of these cook above 158 degrees, I double bagged them in Ziploc freezer bags.

The Chicken – Serious Eats is another great looking resource for Sous Vide, so I followed their guide on Chicken, though my chicken breast was boneless.  I chose the 150 degree temperature, as I figured that would be a good start for my family.

Results

When I pulled the chicken out at the 2 hour mark, I took the temperature with an old meat thermometer.  It measured in the low 140s, I believe.  Being new to sous vide cooking, and still be concerned about salmonella, I moved the Anova up to 155 and put it back in for about 30 minutes.  I was able to then finish it a skillet, browning both sides a little.

When we ate it though, I was surprised that it seemed dry.  I was expecting something more moist than we are used to, but I am not sure what happened.  Perhaps my old meat thermometer needs to be retired and replaced.  Perhaps the extra 30 minutes was the issue?  In any case, it was not what I expected.

The risotto, well, it did not turn out well at all.  It’s like the rice broke down.  The flavors were there, but it was just wrong.  This may have been due to the reheating I did.  Perhaps it was the ingredient – the grocery store Arborio rice?  I’ve not tried again to see if it’s better when eaten fresh, or if perhaps 45 minutes is a few minutes too long.

The carrots were a surprise hit.  Everyone who had them really seemed to like them.  The flavor seemed to be concentrated.   Though I went to the farmers market to try to find nice carrots, it looked like they just had monster carrots, so I used the normal ones my wife gets from the grocery store, and they were terrific.

The cheesecake was also well liked by everyone, which I pretty much expected.  I mean, it’s cheesecake – what’s not to like?

Final Tally:  2 winners, 2 losers

So, for cooking the protein, what Sous Vide is supposed to excel at, Sous Vide failed me, or perhaps I just failed.  Perhaps I should have trusted the technique, but it may have been a bad idea to try chicken as my first Sous Vide protein.

Risotto looked promising, but my result was disappointing.  I do want to try this again, as a method to cook risotto via Sous Vide would be great, as it is normally a labor intensive process.  Unfortunately, I think that the time-insensitivity that Sous Vide is famous for probably doesn’t hold true with rice.

 

Entry filed under: Sous Vide.

Sous Vide Cookery – Intro Sous Vide – Tuna

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2016
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


