Sous Vide Cookery – Intro

September 24, 2016 at 8:37 pm Leave a comment

My day job and the sort of things I enjoy doing in my free time seem to be technology based.  I’m not very into sports anymore, and I’ve slowed down on my woodworking, as it’s a pretty expensive hobby.  Relative to stress, it was recently suggested that I should get a hobby, so I’ve chosen one.

I’ve enjoyed cooking breakfast for my family on Sunday mornings for years.  There are also a few other meals I cook from time to time.  I don’t think I’ve ever been a great cook, but I do enjoy the satisfaction of cooking a good meal and seeing my family enjoy it.  I’ve recently read a bit about Sous Vide, and thought that sounded like my kind of cooking.  More relaxed and laid back, not the critical to the second cooking like you see on reality cooking TV shows.

My wife was on-board, as I offered to cook dinner on Saturdays.

I spent a little time reading about it.  And my wireless carrier sealed the deal for me, when they stopped allowing contract extensions to get you a subsidized iPhone.  My iPhone replacement budget category provided the seed money for my new hobby.

Enter the Anova Precision Cooker, a device that is relatively inexpensive ($199), easy to use from display of the device, and connects via Wi-Fi to you phone, allowing control and such there.  The Wi-Fi is not entirely necessary, but it’s a nice addition.  You could save $20 and get the Bluetooth only version, and you’d probably be perfectly happy with it.

Before deciding on the Anova, I read about the Joule also.  It sounded very much like the Anova, with one big difference.  From what I can tell, it’s controlled through your smart phone only, so there are no manual controls on it.  I read this good comparison article and had planned to get the Joule.  It appears as though they have only recently started shipping the Joule, and they are apparently sold out of their initial batch. Basically, both of  these units are very good, and they are right there on price too.  Since the Anova was much more readily available, that’s the one I bought.

My impression of the Anova were basically in-line with what I had read about it.  I did a quick test and spent a little time planning my first Saturday night meal.

 

Entry filed under: Sous Vide.

Eero – Features Sous Vide – Going both barrels

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2016
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


