HP N54L is on the way

August 15, 2014 at 11:40 pm Leave a comment

I am in the process of acquiring a used HP N54L N40L.  If you don’t know, this is a microserver.  They are extremely small machines that have room for 4 swappable hard drives, and maybe two more without adding any more cards.  I heard about it a year or more ago and considered buying one for myself, but ultimately my budget decided I couldn’t afford it.

What changed?  Well, this machine was a gift, so the budget isn’t a factor.  Since I found out it was coming my way, I have been looking around the web to find out the best thing to do with it.  It didn’t take long before I ran across pages talking about installing ESXi 5.5 (there is an ESX image for it put out by HP!)  Since there is a supported version of ESXi floating around, it’s liable to be very stable.  Further, from what I’ve read, the processor in this unit isn’t really that bad.  A quick check shows that it’s a little shy of twice as fast as the processor in my Synology 1512+ NAS.

Speaking of the NAS, some of the tutorials I’ve found tell you how to install Synology’s OS on a VM, then point it to your individual raw disks.  If this works as well as I suspect it might, I could end up with the advantages of Synology OS running in a VM, but still keep the advantage of the physical write speeds as if it were running natively.  I could also have a couple of other VMs running at the same time (not doing any hard number crunching).

I”m not 100% sure what I’m going to do yet, but I’m working on the plans.

Update:  The server arrived, and it was actually the older version, the HP N40L, not the N54L.  So, the processor speed is 1.5 Ghz, instead of the 2.2 Ghz I was expecting.  Other than that, it’s the same, really.  It’s got a lot less processing power than I expected, but I think it’s still a potentially very useful box.  Considering that it was given to me at no cost, I can’t complain too much about the mix-up.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, General, Storage.

Hayward Ecostar VS Pool Pump Flow Rates & Cost Savings New iPhone Time

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


