Thanksgiving

November 26, 2013 at 9:22 pm Leave a comment

It’s traditional each year to talk about the things that you are thankful for in the past year.

Here are a few of mine, including a big one that I’m sure would have been a surprise to me this time last year:

First off, I’m thankful for my wife, children, and Church.  There are some rough edges with the kids sometimes, but so often I find myself surprised and delighted by them.

I’m thankful that I’m employed in a stable good paying job in a field that I enjoy, working with people I like, while so many others are looking for work.

I’m thankful that my family vehicles have lasted another year, and hoping they will last a few more.

Aside from the people in my life, the one thing that I’m most thankful for is, as strange as this is to admit, software.  The personal budget software YouNeedABudget has changed my life this year.  It’s changed the fundamental way I think about money and I expect it will have a major effect on the rest of my life.  About the only way I could make a major purchase (appliance, vehicle, etc) was on credit.  Debt seemed impossible to eradicate.  After using YNAB for about 7 months, I’m down from over $20K to about $7.5K in debt and expect that to be wiped out by the middle of 2014.  I sleep better, knowing exactly how much money I have (and how much money I owe) and it guides me to make better spending decisions.  With this guidance, I don’t expect to wake up in January to Christmas credit card bills I can’t pay.  Plus, I expect to be able to send my children to private schools next year.  I have peace of mind about money.  All of these things, thanks to YNAB.

No, I’m not the author of YNAB (nor do I work for them).  I’m just one very thankful user that has seen my life get better because of it.  Can I do all the things I want yet?  Of course not, but I see a pathway and YNAB is helping me to get there.

Happy Thanksgiving to you all.

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , .

YNAB for future planning Migrating an app from one database to another

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


