CostCo Beef Bulgogi

October 15, 2013 at 10:40 pm Leave a comment

This post is not related to anything network, or financial (as so many of my posts have been this year), but to food.  I’m posting this mostly so I don’t lose the recipe, but also because I searched for a CostCo Beef Bulgogi recipe and didn’t find much.

Several years ago, CostCo sold this marinated thinly sliced beef in an aluminum tub with a clear plastic lid in their meat department.  In addition to the marinade, there was sesame seeds and slices of onion, among other things.  We’d start the rice cooker and fry this stuff up in a pan on the stove, and it was absolutely delicious, not to mention one of the easiest meals I’ve ever made.

Since CostCo stopped selling it (why?), and they haven’t brought it back, I figured I’d have to try to re-create it myself.  About a year ago, I tried to find a recipe…  What I made wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t quite the same, and it was a bit of a pain to make (involved Asian pears).  A few weeks ago, I thought I’d give it another shot.  I made a batch that wasn’t bad, but the meat soaked up practically all the marinade, and it seemed like it was missing a little something.  One of the things I liked about the CostCo version was that there was plenty of marinade to cook with the meat, and it made a nice sauce.

I made another batch this weekend, a different recipe (which I doubled and modified slightly) and it turned out great, almost just like the CostCo version.  Here’s my version (makes enough to serve 6-8).

Ingredients:

1 cup soy sauce
2/3 cup sugar
6 tablespoons sake (or rice wine or sherry or mirin)
4 tablespoons sesame oil
16 cloves garlic, minced
7 scallions (green onions), minced
4 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 white onion, diced

I mixed the above, making sure that most of the sugar was dissolved.  I placed about 3-4 pounds of thinly sliced ribeye steak in a 1 gallon ziplock bag and poured in the marinade, sealing it and placing it on a plate in the fridge.  The next morning, I flipped the bag over.  That evening, I added a couple of tablespoons of sesame oil to a pan on medium-high heat (about 6 on the dial of my electric stove), and fried it up, a little at a time (this is after the ricer cooker was already cooking).  As each batch of meat is done cooking, move it to a bowl.  For the last batch of meat, pour in all the rest of the marinade and cook it until the meat is done, then put the rest of the meat back in the pan to warm for a minute or two.  When ready, serve over rice with a healthy serving of the cooked-down marinade.

Entry filed under: General.

A simple YNAB feature that delights me Cell Phone Upgraders Hold on to your Wallets!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2013
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


