YNAB Update – June wrap-up

June 29, 2013 at 12:16 am Leave a comment

June is almost over, with just about 48 hours left of it as I start writing this.

  • In March, my first partial month, I was a little under $300 over budget.
  • In April, I went almost another $400 over budget, giving me a total overage of about $670 dollars.
  • In May, I pushed a secondary source of monthly income that arrives late in the month (about $600) to be counted in June income, instead of the current month as I had done in the past.  The end result was that I effectively lowered my May income, and kept my expenditures close to even, keeping the overage at about $670.
  • In June, I spent about $600 less than my June income, lowering my over-budget amount to about $70.  I would have been about even, if it weren’t for the untimely demise of my cable modem.  Only about 3 months after the end of the warranty…  😦

My July income is in-line with my June income, but since I’m starting at a deficit of only $70 (instead of the $670 deficit I started each of the last two months with), I have $600 extra to budget.  It’s sort of like getting a $600/month raise.  Technically, I’m just more effectively using the money I do have, but it sort of feels like a raise.  As I’ve gotten better at planning what I need money for each month, the amount I’m having to shift around to “roll with the punches” is getting less and less…

I think July is going to be my best month on YNAB yet.

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , .

OpenDNS discussion part 3, building a custom DNS solution The YNAB Way, “The Shift”, and my YNAB journey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2013
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


