My DIY Fusion Drive Follow-up

January 7, 2013 at 8:46 pm Leave a comment

Way back on 11/21/2012 I created my Fusion drive on my Mac mini, using a Crucial 128 GB SSD + the original 500 GB Toshiba 5400 RPM hard drive.  This wasn’t long after upgrading from 8 GB of Ram to 16 GB.

As of today, I have used this system with the Fusion drive for a little over 6 weeks.  I am still running off the original install described in my previous blog post.  I occasionally clone my system to a 750 GB external drive, along with my Time Machine backup (stored on my NAS).

I’m using just over 50% of the capacity of my Fusion drive (322 GB out of 614).  The system seems just as snappy today as when I first installed the Fusion drive.  Prior to my recent upgrade, I was used to my system running somewhat sluggishly when doing typical work with VMs.  Now, there’s a pretty brief pause while waiting for a VM to suspend or restore, but that’s about it.  Most everything that I do is almost instantaneous.

Six weeks in, and I’m very happy with the results.  For the price of the $50 upgrade kit plus the $79 SSD, I would have to say that this has been one of my most cost efficient upgrades yet.

Entry filed under: Mac, Storage.

My DIY Fusion Drive Cisco WCS Issues

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


