27″ Thunderbolt Display

September 20, 2011 at 9:08 pm Leave a comment

My new 27″ Thunderbolt display arrived yesterday. My 24″ ACD was 16 by 10, and this 27″ is 16 by 9.  Fortunately for me, they are actually about the same height.  If it were just 1/2 inch taller, it wouldn’t fit under the hutch on my desk.

Resolution wise, my 24″ ACD was 1920 x 1200 pixels (2,304,000 pixels!), and the 27″ Thunderbolt is 2560 x 1440 (3,686,400 pixels!).  So, while the height of the displays are very close, there are are 240 more lines of pixels and overall there are about 37.5% more pixels!

It’s Huge!  I was used to my 24″ ACD, and while the screen size is only a little larger, it makes a really big difference. With my 24″ ACD, I still felt like I needed a little extra screen real estate.  I don’t really feel that with this display.

16 x 9?  Playing a DVD on my 24″ ACD was a bit odd, as there were black bars above and below the movie.  That won’t be an issue with this unit. I was afraid that the aspect ratio would be a bit odd to work with, but it’s fine.

Ports Galore!  When I was first looking at this display, I thought of the major draw was to have a Thunderbolt port to be able to daisy chain a future device.  It was only after the order that I looked closely and saw the Gigabit port.  At first, I thought I was looking at a picture of the back of a 27″ iMac.  But I wasn’t.  Three USB ports, a Firewall 800 port, and a Gigabit port all carried over the single Thunderbolt cable.  What?  Yes!  Not only is this a nice display, it is a docking station!

Overall:   It’s not inexpensive, but it is very well made and feature rich.  Now if I only had more Thunderbolt devices to daisy chain.  🙂

Entry filed under: Mac.

VMware Fusion 4 Upgrade? A Review of the Revue

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


