Apple: The Remote Disk feature isn’t enough

August 17, 2011 at 5:22 pm Leave a comment

I’m using a new 2011 Mac Mini.  It’s the one without an optical drive.  When I need to use an optical device, I’m supposed to put it in another computer and access it across the network.  The first time I did this, it was to rip a DVD, and it worked great.  I was actually a little shocked by how well it worked, honestly.

A few days later, I went to rip another one.  It didn’t work so well.  I’m guessing it had some sort of copy protection on it or something.  A few days later I tried a different DVD and had the same lousy results.

While you may not need an optical drive to install software often, and the Remote Disk feature may work fine for that, there are still other reasons to have a real optical drive…

Entry filed under: Mac.

Running Snow Leopard under VMware Fusion 3.1.3 on Lion Samsung External DVD Writer Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


