Thank you Comcast!

September 5, 2010 at 9:05 pm Leave a comment

Ok – What gives, right?  Why would anyone thank their cable company?  We’ll, I just got my bill…  And, no, it isn’t extremely low due to a mistake on their part…  It’s actually gone up.

So, why would I thank them for that?  That was the kick in the pants that I needed, that’s why…

For the last few years, I’ve been a customer of Comcast, dutifully paying them $42.95 a month for Internet, plus $5 a month for modem rental, and something in the range of $9.95 to $12.95 a month for limited basic cable (poverty level cable – mostly just local channels), plus taxes and fees.  I was paying for the limited basic cable to save money, actually, as they give you a discount off the normal Internet price if you are a cable TV customer.  I’ve been using Over-The-Air HD for a few years now and using SageTV to record everything, so this cable TV service isn’t really doing me any good.

Anyhow, it seems like every few months that cable price has gone up, and up.  It’s recently grown to $17.95.  On the most recent bill, however, I noticed that my Internet price is now $50.95.  There is no mention of a $5 modem rental fee.  Oddly, their website still shows $42.95 as their pricing for my level of service.  So, they must have just raised it $8 and decided to include the modem rental.  I guess too many people were buying their own modem to try to save $60 a year.  This effectively raised my price by $3 a month.

Now, it’s not so much this $3 that is the issue, but the price has steadily gone up from being just about $58 a month to now a little over $72. If you think in terms of percentages, I’m now being charged about 25% more for this service than I was charged about 2 years ago, which is pretty significant.

Anyhow, I don’t have a local phone line anymore (dropped that a few years ago in favor of VoIP), but checked with AT&T anyhow.  They happen to be offering $19.99 a month for a whole year, for their 6 Meg Direct DSL service.  (That’s DSL service without having phone service.)  Add in the typical fees that I’d expect from any phone company and I’m figuring it will run about $25-$27 a month, or about $45 a month LESS than Comcast is charging me.

Now yes, 6 Meg is a lower speed than I’m getting now with Comcast… The actual speed is probably 10-12 Meg that, but you can’t really tell what the top end is because of their “Power Boost” feature, which gives you more speed for short bursts of time, like long enough to run a speed test. (Sounds like a marketing feature, really)

ISo, again, Thank you Comcast!  You made me check out the competition, and the competition looks pretty good.  Perhaps I’ll be back in a year…

Entry filed under: General, Networking.

ReadyNAS, iSCSI, and VMware Hulu Plus – meh

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


