The downfall of most RAIDs

April 20, 2010 at 7:36 pm Leave a comment

The downfall of most RAID arrays is that you must buy expensive drives.  And the price for those drives doesn’t always go down.  Need more space?  Add another high priced drive, or buy all new drives and replace them, one at a time.

You do want good reliability for your data, right?  Then you gotta buy the Enterprise level drives, so “they” say. They are a good bit more expensive, but that 5 year warranty gives you a warm and fuzzy.  After all, they wouldn’t warranty them for 5 years unless they were pretty sure that the darn things would last at least that long, right?

So, I had a ReadyNAS NV+ with 3 Seagate ES drives (250 GB each, I think).  All was fine.   But, then I started running low on disk space, and Infrant came out with a new model.

I upgraded to a ReadyNAS Pro Pioneer with 3 Seagate 500 GB ES.2 drives.  Within about a month, I had a drive failure.  I paid Seagate the $20 to get an advance replacement, but while waiting for my replacement, I did a bit of research online.  It showed that these ES.2 drives have a bad habit of failing. Further research indicated the Western Digital RE3 drives were among the best at the time.  I picked up 3 of them for just over $90 each, and sold one or two of the ES.2 drives off to a friend (giving him the full warning).

So, here I am just over a year later, running low on disk space, again.  Looking around, I see additional 750 GB RE3’s available for about $130.  I resist the urge to buy another one, knowing that multiple brands of 1 TB drives are available for under $100 each.  The fact that a new one is $40 more than I originally paid hurts too.  Then THE fated email arrived.  Yes, my ReadyNAS Pro sent me and email to let me know that I had a drive failure.

Fortunately, Western Digital takes their warranty a bit more seriously than Seagate, as they offer a no cost advance replacement option (just needing a credit card to ensure you return the dead one).

But, that doesn’t solve my space issue.

Entry filed under: General, Networking.

USAA Bank Customer No-Service A Better RAID?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


