ReadyNAS Pro Performance

April 13, 2010 at 5:10 pm Leave a comment

Just yesterday, I ran a series of quick tests to see the performance of the ReadyNAS Pro.  I was surprised by the result in two ways… Here’s a run down:

NOTE: The same 3.22 GB ISO file was used for all tests.  AFP tests were performed using the latest model iMac (the first iMac with a 16×9 screen) with a 3.06 Ghz Core2Duo running Snow Leopard 10.6.3.  CIFS tests were performed using a Core i3 530 Windows 7 workstation with a Gigabyte H55M-S2H motherboard.  Nothing was done to ensure that no other operations were taking place on the network during these tests.

Protocol      READ         WRITE       READ TIME   WRITE TIME
AFP        45.2 MB/sec  46.6 MB/sec      68 sec      66 sec
CIFS       69.9 MB/sec  78.8 MB/sec      44 sec      38 sec

Observations:

1.  AFP is slower than CIFS on the ReadyNAS.  I knew this already, but it’s pretty striking how much slower it is.  I’m guessing this has to do with the AFP client used on the ReadyNAS.

2. Write times were faster than read times, no matter what protocol was used to transfer the file.  And yes, I’m sure that I didn’t mix those up.  This is very odd.

Why did I run these tests, you may wonder?  I wanted to get a reminder of how fast this box really is, and compare that to the recently released competition.  Drobo just last week released the Drobo FS, their first real NAS device.  They claim their device gets about 30-40 MB/sec, but I have yet to see definitive numbers from any third party.  I love the concept of a box that when you run low on space, you just pop a new drive in of whatever type is on sale at the time, and it automatically moves all your data around to give you more space.  I just don’t know if I’m already too spoiled by the speed of the ReadyNAS to happily move to a Drobo FS.  If the AFP and CIFS performance of the Drobo FS is in the 30-40 MB/sec range, I might consider it, as it’s probably only about a 25% decrease in the performance I’m seeing today on my Macs.

Entry filed under: Networking.

Going Paperless… With Fujitsu and Adobe? USAA Bank Customer No-Service

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


