Fresh OS Installs help Macs too!

March 10, 2009 at 11:15 pm Leave a comment

My new 2.26 Ghz Mac mini with 4 GB of RAM arrived today.  My old iMac (the first model of Intel iMac, Core Duo, 2.0 Ghz) had been slowing significantly over the last year, so I decided to act as if I were a brand new user, then simply copy over the things I needed.

First, I performed a backup to an external drive, ala SuperDuper!

Next, I swapped out my computer and booted from said external drive, mainly to make sure everything worked.  Since we were now at USB speeds, it was even slower than before, at booting up at least.

I copied over my pictures, iTunes library, Safari bookmarks, mail, address book, various applications (needing to re-enter all the registration info as I go).  It’s much more of a pain, but I won’t need to go through this for another few years I imagine.

Yes, this took much longer than using the Migration Tool would have, but then I would have all the cruft from my G4 Mac mini, originally running Panther that I had upgrade to Tiger, that I then migrated to my iMac, and then there’s the Leopard upgrade…

I’ll keep my external hard drive around just in case I missed anything.  I can just park it and rely on TimeMachine for backup purposes until I get around to buying a new external hard drive that at least supports FW800.

This mini is significantly faster than my iMac, even though it only has about a 12% clock speed advantage, but going from Core Duo to Core 2 Duo makes up another 10-30%, depending on the task.

But for that matter, I’m sure my iMac would have felt much faster had I just taken these steps with it.  Now, I just have to see if I can convince my wife than a fresh install is what she needs for her new iMac (which will again replace the aging G4 Mini, which my kids will get once I’ve got the wife up and working on the iMac).

Entry filed under: Mac.

Fix duplicates in Mac OS X “Open with…” Finder menu HD200, PlayOn and Hulu

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


