Fix duplicates in Mac OS X “Open with…” Finder menu

March 8, 2009 at 7:18 pm 6 comments

My “Open with…” menu is buggy!  I end up with many duplicates of the same programs showing up in this list.  So, I set out to find a fix to this today.

Other sources on the Internet give a directory to move to, then a terminal command to run.  Unfortunately, it looks like at some point, Apple has moved this to another directory, but none of the sources I could find pointed me to the right location.  (I’m running 10.5.6)  Fortunately, a simple Spotlight search turned up what I was looking for.

To save you the trouble, open a Terminal session and type:

$ cd /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support
$ ./lsregister -kill -domain local -domain system -domain user

Anyhow, since I ran the lsregister command, all is back to normal again.

Entry filed under: Mac.

My Hulu obsession (part 2) Fresh OS Installs help Macs too!

6 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


