HD200 Experiences so far…

December 7, 2008 at 12:26 am Leave a comment

Perhaps I was spoiled…  My SageTV Client PC had an nVidia 8600GT which was using nVidia’s PureVideo codec.  While the HD200 decodes things in hardware, it doesn’t do everything quite as well as the PureVideo codec.  That’s the conclusion I reached after seeing portions of a few DVD rips that I made months ago.  One word sums up the issue with the HD200: Deinterlacing.  It does not appear that the HD200 does on-the-fly deinterlacing, which does appear to happen when using the PureVideo codec from nVidia.  I don’t think it’s a major issue, though, since most of the content I’m getting is recorded from digital signals, intended to be viewed on HD sets.

Since these few videos I’ve tested are watched frequently by my 9 month old, I decided today to re-encode them to h264, using HandBrake’s Decomb feature, which basically does intelligent deinterlacing.  No, my 9 month old doesn’t know the intricacies of video ripping, but it bugs me to see these obviously poorly ripped files.  PureVideo was hiding that from me quite well.

While the look of the HD200 case leaves something to be desired, and my wife wants me to put some electrical tape (or something) over the “Net” light of the HD200 (it is in our bedroom, after all, and is quite bright), I have to say I’m pretty happy with this unit overall, so far.

Entry filed under: General.

SageTV HD Theater First Look SageTV HD200 and PlayOn

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


