Health and Exercise

February 23, 2008 at 12:38 am 2 comments

This post isn’t directly related to I.T. but I imagine that it’s a problem that most I.T. workers have at some time during their career, what with the relatively sedentary job.  As such, I figure it’s fair game for my blog.

Over the last few years I’ve, well, let’s say that I’ve gone on the typical male diet plan:  Bought bigger pants when the current ones have gotten tight…

Back a few months ago I weighed myself for the first time in quite a while and found that I was closing in on 200 lbs.  This was a big surprise to me, as I thought I was in the low to mid 180’s.  I tried the “head-in-the-sand” routine, trying to ignore the problem until this past week.  I weighed myself a few days ago and was happily suprised that I had actually lost a bit of weight, down to about 192.

At the same time, I had my blood pressure taken and found that it was about 142 over 93, or just barely into what is called “Stage 1 Hypertension”.  I’ve read a bit on the subject and found that regular exercise is supposed to help reduce blood pressure and cholesterol (another issue I have).

So, I’ve decided that I will exercise.  My exercise of choice?  A stationary bike.  I picked one up today from BJ’s Wholesale after looking at a range of bikes starting at around $199 (Rickety!) all the way up to about the $549 level.  The one I selected was middle-of-the-road price-wise at $379.  It’s the ProForm 5.0R.  I also plan to record how I’m doing so that I can see my progress.  Having small goals that I continuously set for myself should help me to keep it up.

Now, before I made this purchase, I thought a good bit about it.  Knowing that I don’t have a whole lot of time each week to devote to this, I wanted to insert it as an activity that I’ll perform while doing something I already do.  Initially, I wanted to be able to use a computer while biking, but that is very impractical, especially since I don’t have a laptop computer, or even an iPhone.  After some more thought, I realized what I think is the best time for me to squeeze in some exercise:  While watching TV with my wife.  Typically, we watch TV together just about every night for probably an hour or two.  I figure that if I can exercise while watching each night, I can get my endurance up, then slowly increase the resistance to ratchet up my workout.

I’ve read that when starting a regular exercise regiment you may see an effect on your blood pressure in as little as three weeks, so I’ll try to post back here to let you know how I’ve progressed, though I probably won’t check into it quite that soon.  (If I don’t see an improvement, it might discourage me.)  From my reading, it can be pretty dramatic in the long run (6 months), so here’s hoping that I can lose some weight and get in better shape.   Heck – Maybe I’ll get back into my 32’s again!

Entry filed under: General.

SpeedDownload 4 Mini Review Spectrum Brands – Investing in customer satisfaction

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. redd1118  |  February 24, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Hey good for you! I have one of those exercycles (just pedals – $20) under my desk so that I’m “biking” while working at the computer. But I’m now also looking at the same recumbent bike you just purchased. I will follow your post, please include how you like this bike too as you progress to a healthier place! Thanks and good luck!

    Reply
  • 2. mikemee  |  June 25, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    My dr told me the same thing a few months back. Suggested I try ‘the usual attempts at exercise and salt reduction’ and to come back in a few months for drugs when they didn’t work.

    Instead I did some research and lost some weight – about 12 lbs at that point – and when I went back, I’d dropped my BP about 10 points on each. He said that I’d bought myself more time.

    Just recently started biking to work and still losing weight. Fingers crossed.

    Good luck with the exercise bike – hope it isn’t too noisy…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Most Recent Posts


