Leopard experiences

October 27, 2007 at 11:34 pm Leave a comment

Rule #1 of Upgrading to Leopard.  Don’t perform an “upgrade”.  I did this on my iMac and ran into a few issues.  First, Safari wouldn’t launch, but instead crashed repeatedly.  Figuring that now would be a good time to clean up the cruft that had built up in about two years and 9 months (from Panther on my original Mac mini, upgraded to Tiger), I decided to perform a clean install and just migrate my user settings (not apps) over from my SuperDuper! clone.

Wow!  It just hit me when I wrote that last sentence.  It has been almost three years since I did clean install on my DAILY use machine!  I don’t think I’ve ever had a Windows install that has lasted that long before I’ve had to wipe and start over.  It’s pretty incredible, now that I think about it.

Back to Leopard installation commentary:   Anyhow, I went ahead and did a clean install.  As it completed, I had one unusual issue.  After registering with Apple, my machine seemed to hang.  It wasn’t locked hard or anything, but stayed stuck on the Registration screen.  After waiting several minutes, I decided to reboot.  It rebooted and I was at my login.  This migration of my user settings gave me a good opportunity to go back and install the latest versions of all the apps that I regularly use.  For ones that I need that weren’t installed by Leopard for me (like Quicken 2006), I just copied the app from my SuperDuper! clone.

New Finder in three words:  I like it.  The fact that is shows all the local servers on the sidebar is very nice.  On a corporate network I’d probably disable that feature, though, as I might have a hundred machines or more listed there.  The new look does mirror iTunes, and I think it is suitable to a small network.  It would be nice to be able to “turn off” certain machines in the list, though.

Feature that surprises me the most (in a good way):  CoverFlow.  Yeah, coverflow!  I thought this was a nice eye-candy feature that was good for demos and not much more.  I was shocked to find out how useful it really is.  You see, in the last few years I had accumulated some 300+ files in my download directory.  And I do regularly delete stuff!  Honest!  In fact, a few days before I got Leopard, I thought I would try to get a jump start and look through the contents of my Downloads directory and clean it up.  Wow, that got boring fast!  You see, I had lots of files with titles that didn’t mean much to me.  Many of them looked like semi-random filenames.  Opening each file to look at the contents was painful.  Now that I had Leopard installed, I switched over to CoverFlow mode in Finder and started looking through the Downloads directory again.  To my shock, it made looking through this ton of files go extremely fast.  As of this writing, I have 16 things in my Downloads directory that I haven’t filed away, all thanks to CoverFlow and QuickLook.

Feature that surprises me the most (in a bad way):  Time Machine.  I’d read about using Time Machine and looked forward to an automatic backup that would let me stop using SuperDuper!  (No offense to the author- It’s a very good product!  I own two copies, in fact.)  Anyhow, I have a ReadyNAS NV+ with a pair of 500 GB drives and almost 200 GB of that is free.  I had ready in early posts that I’d be able to use Time Machine directly to my NV+.  Awesome!  But, apparently that feature was recently removed, as people all over are complaining about it.

UPDATE:  I just ran across a procedure that looks very promising for getting Time Machine to work on my NV+.   I’ll comment on it once I’ve had a chance to test it out.

Entry filed under: Mac.

Mac OS X Leopard has arrived Back to the future with Time Machine

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


