iTunes and a network share

June 10, 2007 at 5:54 pm Leave a comment

After getting my ReadyNAS NV+, I decided to alleviate some of the storage issues I had on my iMac. I have recently become a fan of the show Monk, and have purchased several seasons of it from the iTunes Store. As such, I was down to under 20 GB of free space.

After a quick Google search, I found this article on Apple’s site that explains exactly how to move your iTunes library. I followed that procedure and moved my entire library to the media share on my NV+.

Within a day or so, I was ready to buy a new season of Monk, so off to the iTunes store I went. The episodes started downloading and suddenly, iTunes complained that there was not enough space available (error -34 I believe). Well, it was wrong, obviously, as I have a few hundred Gigabytes of unused space on my NV+. I ended up disconnecting, stopping iTunes, reconnecting the share, then restarting iTunes and it worked fine. Later, I found this thread on the Infrant forums that mentioned the same problem. It seems that there is a bug in the AFP support so that the ReadyNAS sometimes reports that it is full.

Now, I have made a few other purchases and had this problem once more, but that’s it. Switching to SMB seems to fix it completely, according to the forum, but I’d rather use AFP if I can.

Note: Infrant has released an add-on here that upgrades the AFP software to fix a few minor issues with their implementation. I’ve not tried it yet, and there are no reports as to whether this fixes the iTunes problem, but it sounds like a good thing to try, at least until version 4.0 of the ReadyNAS software comes out.

Entry filed under: Mac, Networking.

New OS X Native Word Processor! WPA Enterprise security

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


