ReadyNAS NV+ in operation

May 25, 2007 at 9:05 pm Leave a comment

My two Seagate 500 GB drives arrived today. Installing them in the ReadyNAS is about as easy as it can get.

I removed the hazy plastic that covered the top and bottom bezels and it has a mirror finish beneath. Very nice looking. Interestingly, the LCD display on the bottom isn’t visible unless the unit it turned on. With it on, though, it’s as clear as can be. Very nice effect.

After powering up, the ReadyNAS booted the OS, then created the volume. Volume creation took about 45 minutes or so. I was busy with other things, so I got back with it later. At that time, it was busy sync’ing the 2nd disk. I’ve always thought this behavior was a bit of a mystery. I mean, it just created a new, blank mirror. So, why does it have to sync the entire thing over to the other drive. There’s nothing to sync yet, or so it would seem. I’m sure there is a technical reason for this, but I’ve just never taken the time to check into it. As I’m writing this, the sync phase is almost done.

Fortunately, you don’t have to wait until the sync process is complete to start using your ReadyNAS, though I imagine that only slows it down a bit.

As for performance, I currently am limited to 100 MB Ethernet due to where I have the NAS attached to the network. Once I get the final home ready, it will be on Gigabit Ethernet.

Even with this 100 MB limit, while it is syncing the 2nd drive, I am happy to report decent performance. A copy of just over 10 GB of data shows up (in OS X) with an estimated time of approximately 30 minutes. 20 GB of transfer per hour certainly trumps the 4-6 GB per hour that I have been experiencing. I’ll have to do some scientific testing when I get things arranged like I want.

Entry filed under: Networking.

ReadyNAS NV+ has arrived! ReadyNAS NV+ Web Interface

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


